Hello World!

Welcome to the new ScottJSmith.com!

Enjoy your visit.  I am glad you have found interest in this site.  All of the material, including my bio, resumes (film and theatre) and demo reel, are current as of this writing.

Now, I am not an avid “blogger,” so please do not expect daily philosophical rants about the random shapes that appear in my breakfast cereal or jaded commentary on the current political hot potato.  I may, however, check in from time to time while on set or stage of a recent project, or at an audition, workshop, screening or film festival.

Although I have owned this website address for several years, it has always forwarded to GeoCities.com or FirstCoastTalent.com.  Lately, I have become more and more attuned to the fact that a single web page is no longer sufficient for the image I wish to convey to the world on the Internet as I continue to develop my craft.

I did consider expanding my website using the existing Yahoo! (GeoCities) account, but discovered Microsoft Office Live, which has an interface that is much more user-friendly.  Of course, I could have hired a web developer to assume the responsibility of maintaining this site, but the thought of working through an intermediary for periodic updates simply does not interest me at this time.

I strongly recommend all serious actors get a website and custom domain name (sorry, ScottJSmith.com is already taken).  As important as your headshot, resume and demo reel are today, a website is essential to increase your exposure and improve your image to other professionals in the industry.  Some hosting services today have online tools that make it easy for actors to manage websites themselves, without the need for being intimately familiar with HTML, Java or CSS code.

So, what lies ahead?  The sky is the limit.  I will keep in touch with you through this blog to let you know about my latest endeavors.  I might share with you some personal tid-bits from time to time, but for the most part, I will try to keep these posts in the professional acting vein.

Stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

